{
  "name": "Deposit at check-in and debit cards, by hotel group (October 13, 2026)",
  "description": "Checking into a hotel without a credit card: deposit, debit and cash rules of 10 hotel chains, with hold release times. Checked October 13, 2026.",
  "publisher": "StaySats",
  "url": "https://staysats.com/data/hotel-check-in-deposits.json",
  "license": "https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/",
  "updated": "2026-10-13",
  "columns": [
    "hotel_group",
    "deposit_at_check_in",
    "debit_card",
    "source",
    "cash_deposit",
    "amount_published",
    "hold_released"
  ],
  "rows": [
    {
      "hotel_group": "Marriott International",
      "deposit_at_check_in": "Hold on a card for the room, taxes and a daily amount for extras",
      "debit_card": "Yes: a hold on a \"credit or debit card\"",
      "source": "Marriott Help (https://help.marriott.com/s/article/what-is-incidental-hold)",
      "cash_deposit": "Named as an option in its gift-stay rules",
      "amount_published": "No: the daily amount is set by the hotel",
      "hold_released": "At check-out; banks take 3 to 7 business days, foreign cards up to 30"
    },
    {
      "hotel_group": "Hilton",
      "deposit_at_check_in": "The hotel may hold your card for extras, even when the stay is prepaid",
      "debit_card": "Accepted for bookings",
      "source": "Hilton Payment FAQs (https://www.hilton.com/en/hilton-honors/payment-security/)",
      "cash_deposit": "Not stated: payment types vary by hotel",
      "amount_published": "No",
      "hold_released": "Within 72 hours of check-out, or later, depending on the card provider"
    },
    {
      "hotel_group": "IHG Hotels & Resorts",
      "deposit_at_check_in": "Set by each hotel; a credit card secures the booking",
      "debit_card": "Not stated",
      "source": "IHG FAQ (https://www.ihg.com/content/us/en/customer-care/frequently-asked-questions)",
      "cash_deposit": "Not stated",
      "amount_published": "No",
      "hold_released": "Not stated"
    },
    {
      "hotel_group": "Accor",
      "deposit_at_check_in": "A deposit or a card authorization on arrival if not prepaid; show the booking card",
      "debit_card": "Yes: \"credit/debit card\"",
      "source": "Accor Help (https://help.accor.com/s/article/why-is-a-debit-credit-card-requested-when-i-book?language=en_US) · Accor terms, 4.3.4 (https://all.accor.com/a/en/information/internet-sales-conditions.html)",
      "cash_deposit": "\"A deposit\", form not stated",
      "amount_published": "No",
      "hold_released": "Usually 24 to 48 hours; up to 7 business days or more, depending on the bank"
    },
    {
      "hotel_group": "Hyatt",
      "deposit_at_check_in": "Set by each hotel and shown when you book (search extract: the page showed a bot check)",
      "debit_card": "Not stated",
      "source": "Hyatt FAQ (https://world.hyatt.com/content/help/en/faqs/payment-and-cancellation.html) (search extract)",
      "cash_deposit": "Not stated",
      "amount_published": "No",
      "hold_released": "Not stated"
    },
    {
      "hotel_group": "Wyndham",
      "deposit_at_check_in": "Set by each hotel",
      "debit_card": "Not stated",
      "source": "Wyndham FAQ (https://www.wyndhamhotels.com/en-uk/contact-us/faq)",
      "cash_deposit": "Paying the stay in cash \"varies by hotel\"",
      "amount_published": "No",
      "hold_released": "A refunded deposit can take up to 30 days"
    },
    {
      "hotel_group": "Choice Hotels",
      "deposit_at_check_in": "A credit card at check-in, in the name on the booking",
      "debit_card": "Named for the booking guarantee, not for check-in",
      "source": "Choice FAQ (https://www.choicehotels.com/en-uk/support/faq)",
      "cash_deposit": "Not stated",
      "amount_published": "No",
      "hold_released": "Not stated"
    },
    {
      "hotel_group": "Best Western",
      "deposit_at_check_in": "Set by each hotel; one Canadian hotel takes no cash deposit and no debit card",
      "debit_card": "Varies by hotel",
      "source": "Best Western FAQ (https://www.bestwestern.com/en_US/customer-service/frequently-asked-questions.html) · Best Western Parkway Hotel (https://bestwesternparkway.com/credit-card-debit-policy/)",
      "cash_deposit": "Varies by hotel",
      "amount_published": "No",
      "hold_released": "Not stated"
    },
    {
      "hotel_group": "Radisson Hotel Group",
      "deposit_at_check_in": "Credit card pre-authorization at check-in",
      "debit_card": "No: \"only credit cards\" for the pre-authorization",
      "source": "Radisson FAQ (https://www.radissonhotels.com/en-us/faq)",
      "cash_deposit": "Not stated",
      "amount_published": "No: it depends on the hotel and the stay",
      "hold_released": "Up to 5 days after departure"
    },
    {
      "hotel_group": "Minor Hotels",
      "deposit_at_check_in": "Pre-authorization deposit on a credit card; show the booking card",
      "debit_card": "Not named",
      "source": "Minor terms (https://www.minorhotels.com/en/terms-and-conditions)",
      "cash_deposit": "Not accepted as a bond in Australia and New Zealand; elsewhere not stated",
      "amount_published": "$1 pre-authorization in Australia and New Zealand; elsewhere not stated",
      "hold_released": "Your bank decides; up to 10 working days in Australia and New Zealand"
    }
  ]
}