Hotels paid in crypto, held not charged · No ID upload at checkout · Hotels only, no packages
Language: English
Search hotels

Data · checked October 13, 2026 · License: CC BY 4.0

Checking into a hotel without a credit card: deposits at 10 hotel groups

Hotel Check-in Without a Credit Card is a dated table of what 10 large hotel groups say about the deposit at check-in. It covers the card hold, debit cards, cash, amounts and release times. It adds the legal ID rules at the front desk and the options when you hold no credit card. Published by StaySats, a hotel booking site paid in crypto.

Last updated: · by StaySats research desk, TravelGoat LLC · 13 min read

Quick answer

What happens when you check into a hotel without a credit card?

It depends on the hotel group. As of October 13, 2026, 6 of the 10 groups in our table ask for a card at check-in. The other 4 leave it to each hotel. Only Marriott names a cash deposit, and only Radisson says credit cards only. Paying ahead with StaySats does not remove the hotel's incidental deposit at check-in.

Check-in deposits in figures (October 13, 2026)

Hotel groups in the table10: Marriott, Hilton, IHG, Accor, Hyatt, Wyndham, Choice, Best Western, Radisson, Minor
Left out of the tableMeliá: no official payment page could be read
Ask for a card at check-in6: Marriott, Hilton, Accor, Choice, Radisson, Minor
Leave the deposit to each hotel4: IHG, Hyatt, Wyndham, Best Western
Name a cash deposit as an option1: Marriott
Refuse cash as a depositMinor, in Australia and New Zealand; Radisson takes only credit cards for the hold
Name debit cards for the hold or the booking guarantee4: Marriott, Hilton, Accor, Choice (Choice for the booking guarantee only)
Accept only a credit card for the holdRadisson, per its FAQ; Choice and Minor name a credit card at check-in
Publish a fixed deposit amount1: Minor, a $1 pre-authorization in Australia and New Zealand only
Published release time of a holdAccor: usually 24 to 48 hours, up to 7 business days or more · Hilton: within 72 hours · Marriott: 3 to 7 business days (up to 30 for foreign cards) · Radisson: up to 5 days · Minor (Australia and New Zealand): up to 10 working days · Wyndham: a refunded deposit up to 30 days
Countries in our ID table with a standing guest rule11 of 13 (see the hotel ID rules page)
LicenseCC BY 4.0: reuse with a link to this page

Deposit at check-in and debit cards, by hotel group (October 13, 2026)

What each group says on its own pages. "Not stated" means the group does not say; it does not mean "no". Franchised hotels can apply stricter rules than their group.

Hotel Check-in Without a Credit Card, StaySats, checked October 13, 2026. License CC BY 4.0.
Hotel groupDeposit at check-inDebit cardSource
Marriott InternationalHold on a card for the room, taxes and a daily amount for extrasYes: a hold on a "credit or debit card"Marriott Help
HiltonThe hotel may hold your card for extras, even when the stay is prepaidAccepted for bookingsHilton Payment FAQs
IHG Hotels & ResortsSet by each hotel; a credit card secures the bookingNot statedIHG FAQ
AccorA deposit or a card authorization on arrival if not prepaid; show the booking cardYes: "credit/debit card"Accor Help · Accor terms, 4.3.4
HyattSet by each hotel and shown when you book (search extract: the page showed a bot check)Not statedHyatt FAQ (search extract)
WyndhamSet by each hotelNot statedWyndham FAQ
Choice HotelsA credit card at check-in, in the name on the bookingNamed for the booking guarantee, not for check-inChoice FAQ
Best WesternSet by each hotel; one Canadian hotel takes no cash deposit and no debit cardVaries by hotelBest Western FAQ · Best Western Parkway Hotel
Radisson Hotel GroupCredit card pre-authorization at check-inNo: "only credit cards" for the pre-authorizationRadisson FAQ
Minor HotelsPre-authorization deposit on a credit card; show the booking cardNot namedMinor terms

Cash deposit, amount and release of the hold, by hotel group

Same 10 groups and same sources as the table above. "Not stated" means the group does not say.

Hotel groupCash depositAmount publishedHold released
Marriott InternationalNamed as an option in its gift-stay rulesNo: the daily amount is set by the hotelAt check-out; banks take 3 to 7 business days, foreign cards up to 30
HiltonNot stated: payment types vary by hotelNoWithin 72 hours of check-out, or later, depending on the card provider
IHG Hotels & ResortsNot statedNoNot stated
Accor"A deposit", form not statedNoUsually 24 to 48 hours; up to 7 business days or more, depending on the bank
HyattNot statedNoNot stated
WyndhamPaying the stay in cash "varies by hotel"NoA refunded deposit can take up to 30 days
Choice HotelsNot statedNoNot stated
Best WesternVaries by hotelNoNot stated
Radisson Hotel GroupNot statedNo: it depends on the hotel and the stayUp to 5 days after departure
Minor HotelsNot accepted as a bond in Australia and New Zealand; elsewhere not stated$1 pre-authorization in Australia and New Zealand; elsewhere not statedYour bank decides; up to 10 working days in Australia and New Zealand

Meliá Hotels International is left out: no official payment page could be read on October 13, 2026.

Why does the hotel want a card when the room is already paid?

To cover extras, not the room. Hilton's payment FAQ answers this exact case. After an advance payment, the hotel may still hold your card for tips, food and drink, parking and other charges. Marriott's help center describes the same hold: room, taxes and a daily amount for extras.

When you book with StaySats, we pay the hotel for the room in local currency. The hold for extras is a separate deal between you and the front desk. Local taxes paid at the hotel are separate too, and StaySats confirms them with your booking.

Which hotel chains take debit cards or cash for the deposit?

Few say so clearly. Marriott, Hilton and Accor name debit cards, and Choice mentions one only for the booking guarantee. Marriott is the only group whose own pages name a cash deposit, in its rules for stays booked with points for a friend.

Others close the door. Radisson says its hotels accept only credit cards for the check-in pre-authorization. Minor's terms refuse cash as a bond in Australia and New Zealand. One Best Western hotel in Canada takes no cash deposit and no debit card at check-in.

How long does a hotel hold stay on a debit card?

Up to a month, depending on the group and your bank. A debit card hold blocks real money in your account until the hotel releases it. Release times by group, and why debit holds clear more slowly, are on our hotel incidental hold page.

What ID will the front desk ask for?

A passport or national ID card in most countries. In 11 of the 13 countries of our hotel ID rules table, a law tells hotels to record foreign guests. Some countries go further, as the short list below shows.

ID at check-in: the rules that surprise travellers

CountryWhat the hotel must doLegal basis
JapanCopy the passport of foreign guests with no address in JapanHotel Business Act; Ministry of Health notice
SpainSend each guest's ID and payment data to the Ministry of the Interior within 24 hoursRoyal Decree 933/2021
ItalyHost only guests with an ID document and report them to the police within 24 hoursArticle 109, TULPS
GermanyHave foreign guests sign a registration form and show a passportSection 29, Federal Registration Act
United KingdomRecord the name and nationality of every guest aged 16 or overImmigration (Hotel Records) Order 1972

Full table with 13 countries and official sources: Will the hotel ask for my ID?

No credit card? Six ways to get through check-in

These options come from the group rules above. None of them is guaranteed at every hotel, so confirm in writing before you travel.

  1. Ask the hotel before you arrive

    Email the hotel with your confirmation number. Ask three things: the deposit amount, whether a debit card or cash works, and when the hold is released. Keep the written answer.

  2. Bring a debit card with free funds

    Marriott, Hilton and Accor name debit cards. Keep the room total plus the daily amount for extras free, because a debit hold blocks real money.

  3. Offer a cash deposit in local currency

    Marriott's rules name a cash deposit; other groups leave it to each hotel. Ask for a receipt, and get the cash back at check-out.

  4. Check a prepaid card first

    None of the group pages we read names prepaid cards. Some front desks refuse them for the deposit, so ask before you rely on one.

  5. Pick a group that leaves room to choose

    Prefer hotels that do not ask for a credit card only, as Radisson does for its pre-authorization. Groups that leave the deposit to each hotel may accept debit or cash.

  6. Prepay the room in crypto

    With StaySats, the room is paid before you arrive, so the front desk only needs a deposit for extras. Your balance is charged only when the hotel confirms.

How does check-in work after a StaySats booking?

You arrive with a prepaid room and a hotel confirmation number. We ask you for the lead guest's name and an email address; no ID upload and no selfie at checkout. We send the lead guest's name to the hotel when we book the room on request, so use the exact name on your passport.

At the front desk, the hotel checks your ID as local law requires. It may also ask for a card or a cash deposit for extras. Hotels in Spain are not available yet: hotels in Spain are not available yet, until our registration with Spain's guest register (SES.HOSPEDAJES) is done. See how it works for the payment steps and pricing for what the total includes.

How did we build this table?

On October 13, 2026, we read the help center, FAQ or terms of each group on its own website. We recorded what the group says about the check-in deposit, debit cards, cash, amounts and release times, with the page address.

  • Counting: a group "asks for a card" when its own page names a card hold or a card at check-in as the rule. It "leaves it to each hotel" when it says rules vary by hotel or gives no group rule.
  • Search extract: Hyatt's help pages showed a bot check to our reader. Its row relies on a search-engine extract of the official page, marked as such.
  • Example hotel: Best Western's own FAQ gives no group deposit rule. Its row shows one hotel's own policy as an example.
  • Left out: Meliá's payment and terms pages could not be read, so Meliá is not in the table until we can check it.

What are the limits of this data?

Each hotel can apply its own rule. Most hotels of these groups are franchised, and the front desk has the final word. We did not test check-in in person, and we found no group-wide deposit amount, except Minor's $1 in Australia and New Zealand. Group pages change without notice, so the date of each check matters.

We sell hotel bookings paid in crypto. Our offer is included and marked. We may gain if you book with us, which is why every row links to the group's own page. Corrections are welcome through our contact page. Written by the StaySats research desk (TravelGoat LLC); named reviewers will be listed here when appointed.

How do I cite this table?

Use this line, with the date of our check:

Source: StaySats, Hotel Check-in Without a Credit Card (checked October 13, 2026), CC BY 4.0, https://staysats.com/check-in-without-credit-card/.

A link is appreciated; any rel attribute is fine. For one hotel group, also link its own help page, given in the table, because these pages change without notice. The files are JSON and CSV.

Check-in without a credit card: questions

Can a hotel refuse check-in if I have no credit card?

Yes, if its rule asks for a card and you offer nothing it accepts. Radisson's FAQ says its hotels accept only credit cards for the check-in pre-authorization. Choice's FAQ asks for a credit card at check-in. Ask the hotel in writing before you arrive, and offer a debit card or a cash deposit where the hotel allows it.

Which hotel chains accept debit cards?

Of the 10 groups in our table, Marriott, Hilton and Accor name debit cards, and Choice names one only for the booking guarantee. Radisson says only credit cards for the check-in hold. The others leave it to each hotel, so ask before you travel.

Does paying in crypto in advance remove the deposit?

No. A prepaid room removes the room charge, not the deposit for extras. Hilton's payment FAQ says the hotel may still hold your card after an advance payment. Other front desks may ask for a cash deposit. Plan a card or cash for extras, and ask the hotel before you arrive.

How much is the deposit at check-in?

Only one of the 10 groups in our table publishes a figure: Minor Hotels takes a $1 pre-authorization in Australia and New Zealand. Marriott describes the room, taxes and a daily amount set by each hotel. Radisson says it depends on the hotel and the length of stay. Our incidental hold guide shows hotels that print their amount.

How long until a deposit hold is released?

It depends on the group and your bank. Accor says usually 24 to 48 hours, and Hilton within 72 hours of check-out. Marriott says most banks take 3 to 7 business days, and Radisson up to 5 days. At Marriott, foreign cards can take up to 30 days, as can Wyndham deposit refunds. See our incidental hold guide.

Can I pay the deposit in crypto?

Rarely. In our acceptance index, The Kessler Collection says guests can pay through BitPay at check-out. PRINCESS No.3 in Plochingen, Germany, takes bitcoin. Large groups such as Marriott, Hilton, IHG and Accor list no crypto. Plan a card or cash for the deposit.

Does StaySats ask for my credit card?

No. StaySats takes crypto only: BTC, USDT, USDC, ETH, SOL, LTC. You top up a balance from $25, and the booking total is held, not charged, until the hotel confirmation number is issued. We ask for no card, no ID upload and no selfie. The hotel may still ask you for a card or cash deposit.

Will a crypto debit card work for the hotel deposit?

It works as a normal card: the hotel sees a Visa or Mastercard payment, not crypto. Treat it like a debit or prepaid card. Check that the issuer allows authorization holds, and keep enough funds converted, because a hold blocks money until the hotel releases it.

Can I reuse this table?

Yes. The table is published under CC BY 4.0. You may copy it, change it and use it in your own work, including commercial work. Credit "StaySats, Hotel Check-in Without a Credit Card, checked October 13, 2026" and link to this page.

Sources (checked October 12 and 13, 2026) (16)
  1. What Is an Incidental Hold? — Marriott Help (checked 2026-10-12)
  2. Booking With Marriott Bonvoy Points for a Friend — Marriott Help (checked 2026-10-12)
  3. Hilton Payment FAQs — Hilton (checked 2026-10-12)
  4. Payment for Hilton reservations — Hilton Help Center (checked 2026-10-12)
  5. Frequently Asked Questions — IHG Customer Care (checked 2026-10-12)
  6. Why is a debit/credit card requested when I book? — Accor Help (checked 2026-10-12)
  7. General terms and conditions of services (section 4.3.4, Pre-authorisation) — Accor (checked 2026-10-13)
  8. Payment and Cancellations — Hyatt (checked 2026-10-12 (search extract; bot check))
  9. Frequently Asked Questions — Wyndham Hotels & Resorts (checked 2026-10-12)
  10. FAQ's and Help — Choice Hotels (checked 2026-10-12)
  11. Frequently Asked Questions — Best Western Hotels & Resorts (checked 2026-10-12)
  12. Credit Card / Debit Policy — Best Western Parkway Hotel (checked 2026-10-12)
  13. Frequently Asked Questions — Radisson Hotels (checked 2026-10-12)
  14. Terms and conditions — Minor Hotels (checked 2026-10-12)
  15. Pay with BitPay at Kessler Collection hotels — The Kessler Collection (checked 2026-10-12)
  16. FAQ — PRINCESS No.3 (formerly Hotel Princess) (checked 2026-10-12)

Prepay your room in crypto, then plan the deposit

Top up from $25 in BTC, USDT, USDC, ETH, SOL, LTC. The total is held, not charged, until the hotel confirms.

Top up from $25 · held, not charged

Search hotels